Vins

Sancerre rouge

La Bourgeoise

This ruby and garnet-colored wine develops very ripe red fruits aromas with hints of morello cherries, plums and a touch of vanilla. The old vines and low yields produce a very concentrated and well-structured cuvée heralding good ageing potential. Under ideal conditions, this wine could age a decade or more.

This is a powerful Pinot. Its development on the palate is remarkable. It therefore asks for cuisine that is well-spiced and able to stand up to it. Some examples: “Preserved quail with currants in rosemary sauce”; “Roll of lamb with pan-sautéed wild Cèpe mushrooms”.

Alcoholic fermentation is performed in vats for 10 to 14 days at temperatures between 26 and 32°c. Throughout this process, the cap is punched and the must pumped over twice daily so as to maximize the extraction of color and tannins. Malolactic fermentation takes place in Tronçais forest oak barrels. When completed, the wine is racked and barrel aged for 10 to 12 months. Once bottled, this wine will age 8 to 24 months (depending on the vintage) in our cellar before being released.


With a great concentration this generous cuvee reveals a delicate structure ensuring a promising future while pleasure can also be immediate.

Winegrowing & Terroir

La Bourgeoise is a selection of very old Pinot Noir vines planted on southwest facing flinty-clay hills. Historically, the names of the plots, first worked by the monks of Saint-Satur, giving this wine were affectionately called “les Bourgeoises”. That is why, in the eighties, this name was given to the new cuvee made from this selected parcels. Flinty soils give wines with a great minerality, intensity and an excellent ageing potential.

1

Vins

Sancerre rouge

La Bourgeoise

Ce vin de couleur rubis grenat développe des arômes de fruits rouges très mûrs (griottes, pruneaux…) légèrement vanillés. D’une grande concentration (vieilles vignes à petit rendement), cette cuvée montre une structure plaisante assurant un avenir très prometteur.

Ce vin de Pinot noir a une très belle puissance et son développement en bouche est remarquable. Il demandera donc une cuisine assez corsée et bien épicée. Accompagnez-le donc de petits gibiers ou de viandes rouges marinées : comme par exemple des « Cailles Confites aux Raisins de Corinthe Jus au Romarin », ou un « Roulé d’agneau et Poêlée de Cèpes du pays ».

La fermentation alcoolique s’effectue en cuves (10 à 14 jours) entre 26 et 32 °C. Pendant ce temps, les raisins sont pigés et le jus remonté 2 fois par jour pour casser le chapeau de marc afin d’extraire un maximum de matières colorantes et de tannins. La fermentation malolactique se déroule en fûts de 228 l (chêne de Tronçais). Lorsqu’elle est achevée, le vin est soutiré puis élevé dans ces fûts pendant 10 à 12 mois. La commercialisation de cette prestigieuse cuvée n’a lieu que 8 à 24 mois après la mise en bouteilles (selon le millésime).


Concentration et générosité assurent un avenir très prometteur à cette cuvée toute en délicatesse.

Viticulture & Terroir

« La Bourgeoise », nom d’un ancien lieu-dit des coteaux de Saint-Satur, est une sélection de très vieilles vignes de Pinot noir plantées sur des sols argilo-siliceux d’exposition sud-ouest. Les silex, omniprésents sur cette parcelle, restituent durant la nuit la chaleur accumulée pendant la journée aidant ainsi à obtenir une parfaite maturation des baies.

1